Tuesday 16 May 2023, 7:30pm

Cello recital

Guy Johnston cello
William Vann piano

Click here to purchase an individual ticket for this concert. You may alternatively prefer to purchase a season ticket.

Felix Mendelssohn Cello Sonata No. 1 in B flat major, Op. 45
Joseph Phibbs Cello Sonata (2021)

Gabriel Fauré Sonata No. 1 for cello and piano in D minor, Op. 109
Robert Schumann Adagio and Allegro, Op. 70

Guy Johnston’s memorable performance at the BBC Young Musician of the Year award in 2000 kickstarted a stellar international career as a soloist and chamber musician. He is now recognised as one of the most exciting and versatile British cellist of his generation. He is joined at the piano by William Vann, multiple award-winning pianist and Chairman of KCMS, for an unforgettable evening of music by Fauré, Mendelssohn and the contemporary British composer Joseph Phibbs.