Wednesday 22nd May 2024, 7:30pm

Cello & Piano Recital

Mon-Puo cello
Simone Alessandro Tavoni piano

Click here to buy tickets, or to buy a season ticket follow the link from the Tickets page above.

Thomas Adès Lieux retrouvés (first movement)
Robert Schumann Five Pieces in Folk Style, Op. 102
Zoltán Kodály Sonata for Solo Cello in B minor, Op. 8: Allegro molto vivace

Johannes Brahms Cello Sonata No. 2, Op. 99
Sulkhan Tsintsadze Five Pieces on Folk Themes

Multiple prize-winning cellist Mon-Puo is “praised for his imagination of sound expressivity, virtuosity and energy.” He has performed at the Konzerthaus, Berlin, the National Concert Hall, Spain, Wigmore Hall, London, the Gasteig, Munich, the National Concert Hall of Taiwan, the Zeneakademia of Budapest and the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam. The program for this evening opens with a dreamy piece written by the British contemporary composer Thomas Adès, continuing with the German romanticism of Schumann and a dazzling work by French composer Charles Koechlin, a contemporary of Claude Debussy.  The second half brings us back to the core of the Romantic era with Brahms’s splendid second Cello Sonata, and is concluded by the lively and colourful five pieces in folk style written by the renowned Georgian composer Sulkhan Tsinsadze. An unmissable finale to the KCMS 2023-24 series!